Healthy Humpday: New Series on living healthy

Sorting through all the information available on “health” to make educated decisions about lifestyle changes can be a daunting task.  There are so many philosophies and so many opinions.  I also always feel like one must be careful about the motives of the author/publisher.  I would like to start a series of posts sharing what I have learned and experienced over the years.  On Wednesdays, humpday, I will post topics relating to health hence the name Healthy Humpday.

Right out of the gate I want to say these are my opinions based on my experience.  I do not have any real certifications or qualifications other than personal experience.  I am not looking to benefit from sharing or push anyone toward buying something I sell.  I just want to share some of the knowledge I have acquired over the years.  I am a Beach Body coach and a distributor for the supplement company Advocare, but I would rather you buy from someone else than have you question my credibility.  If I post any information on these companies it is because I believe something they sell works.  I don’t want mixed motives to get in the way of anyone being able to benefit from what I want to share.  So if you want something that I have spoken of, please feel free to find it elsewhere if it helps you feel like you can trust my opinion more.

That being said, here is a little of my story and what I think qualifies me as someone who can offer information on healthy choices and information is what I am offering because I find that informed choices are usually better choices.

I suffered most of my life with chronic fatigue.  I always felt exhausted.  I didn’t know why I was so tired all the time, but I felt like it definitely wasn’t normal.  By chronic fatigue I means 10 hours of sleep at night and at least one if not more 2 to 3 hour nap.  I would be okay then suddenly it was as if someone shot me with a tranquilizer dart.  I have, literally, fallen asleep standing straight up, sitting at a stop light, or sitting on the concrete somewhere.

About 10 years ago, I began having excruciated pain in my joints.  It was the most horrible pain I have ever felt.  When the pain was at its worst my whole body hurt.  My knuckles, my toes, my wrists, my ankles, my knees, hips, elbows, the vertebrae in my neck all hurt.  It hurt to walk, turn door knobs, drive, pick up my 6 month old baby; it hurt to do anything.  It would take hours to get my body moving; pain and stiffness were just part of my daily life.   Somedays I would just lay on the couch with the baby and cry.  My muscles even hurt some days.  I just wanted to sleep.  Shortly after I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia.

I have also battled my weight for almost as long as I remember.  I have been up and down for years.  My highest weight was 228.  At that point I was wearing a mens 38 jeans.

Me at 228 wearing men’s size 38 pants

I am not saying I have it all figured out.  I have learned a lot along the way.  The journey from that to hear has literally been a 10 year journey and it is not over yet.  I would like, though, to share some of what we have learned over the years.  It is a long story how I got from the overweight girl with crippling pain and chronic fatigue to the girl who is finishing the last couple weeks of Insanity and who runs 3 to 10 miles at a time or bikes 8 to 20 miles at a time.  If you would like to come along on this journey I will be happy to share my experience with you.  You may take what you want and leave the rest.  It is my hope to be able to help you all learn to be aware of what your body is telling you so you can be healthy enough to live to your full potential.  The challenge of a serious illness may still knock at the door.  I don’t have a full proof way to live to a ripe old age disease free, but I truly believe that if we are strong and healthy when/if something serious shows up we will be able to fight it better and withstand whatever treatment may be necessary to fight.  I also believe that we don’t have to live in such a way to encourage the development of serious disease.

Do I have it perfect? No way!!! I fall off the wagon still.  The difference is that my body lets me know immediately that I am making poor choices.  I have learned to listen to my body.  I can’t even tell you I am at the fitness level I want to be, but I am making forward motion toward it.

I am a jagged grace creation myself.  I don’t have it all figured out.  I don’t have all the answers.  I still fall down.

What I can promise is that I will honestly and authentically share what I have learned, where I have failed, what has worked and what has not worked.

What worked for me, may not be the answer for you, but if you can learn the techniques of listening to your body and tracking food and its effects on your body, you can feel better and better.  Maybe reading some of my experience will help you find your journey and look at things that you may not have thought about looking at before.  Some weeks you may come read about how I fell off the wagon and how it effected me and some weeks you may read some new piece of the puzzle I have found.

It will be a journey.  There are no easy answers; it is not quick.  It is a journey that takes months and even years.  I will try to tell the story of my recovery a bit at a time as well as share things I am currently learning.  I am in school preparing for nursing school currently and it has been such an amazing thing to begin to piece together what I have experienced the last 10 years with learning normal physiology, pathophysiology, and disease progression.

Check back next week and see what we will be discussing.

This entry was posted in Healthy choices and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthy Humpday: New Series on living healthy

  1. mrskcbrown says:

    awesome! I love Advocare.

Leave a Reply

