Five Minute Friday: Beyond

 

t’s #FiveMinuteFriday free write time! <—click to tweet this!

Where a flash mob of folks spend five minutes all writing on the same topic and then share ‘em over here.

Want to know how Five Minute Friday got started and how to participate? All the details are here. And every week I’ll pick a post that caught my eye and share it down there in my side bar – see where it says “Featured Five Minute Friday”? Yea -that could be you!

Because, as we all know, the most important rule of Five Minute Friday is leaving an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. So getting to feature one of your fine posts is like frosting as far as I’m concerned.

So, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

OK, are you ready? Please give me your best five minutes on:::

Beyond…

Start:

When I think of the word beyond it always takes me to a grateful place.  I am always so overwhelmed and filled with gratitude for what God has done in my life.

The life I have now is so far beyond my wildest childhood dreams or expectations.  Twenty years ago I never ever would have been able to picture myself at the place I find myself.  God has done far beyond my wildest imaginations.  That broken, almost utterly destroyed little girl 7 months pregnant that walked into that little church had no idea what she was in for.

The drop out is going to school to eventually get her PhD.  The drug addict has 20 years drug free.  The suicidal depressed little girl wakes up every day filled with awe, wonder and gratitude the Lord has granted her another day.  The angry violent punk street kid has become the peacemaker always looking for ways to mend broken relationships.  The one still afraid of the dark at 21 years old has become to comforter and encourage to those who are still afraid.  The daughter has become a mother.  The whore has become a chaste wife adored by her husband.  The shame has been stripped and replaced with the devoted love of a man committed for life.  The hard controlled cold-hearted girl has become a tender-hearted, loved filled, weeping woman whose compassion sometimes overwhelms and shocks her.

Beyond anything my mind could conceive she has become what she could only become in Christ by His gracious loving hand of restoration and sanctification.

Stop!

 

This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Beyond

  1. Lisa Maria says:

    Hello there…I’m your neighbour at FMF. What a truly awesome testimony! Thank you for being so transparent. The reason I started blogging was for this very reason…sometimes we need to bare our broken and bleeding selves for the world to see how great God is and how much He has done for us and how much He can do for others too.

    Beautiful…keep shining in His Grace!

  2. Alicia says:

    He is truly amazing! You and your family have changed drastically from just 3 1/2 years ago. I know that is only a small fraction of what he’s done and will continue to do 🙂

  3. Denise says:

    Amazingly beautiful post. Bless you sweety.

Leave a Reply

